BME Mental Health Workplace Good Practice Certification Scheme


Success and success measures come in a variety of forms; however, the principal success measure will see BME people receiving more timely, appropriate and effective mental health services that lead to better outcomes. For example :-

Mental Health Service Providers

  • Improved levels of trust and engagement from BME service user and wider community
  • Development of more tailored services and approaches
  • Increased efficiency
  • Reduction of discrimination based complaints
  • Improved employee engagement

Service User

  • Improved confidence to engage with service provider
  • Improved engagement with service providers
  • Improved sense of agency regarding the service they receive
  • Experience more culturally sensitive appropriate services and approaches
  • Reduction of anxiety



The Certification Methodology

The scheme will use an evidence based supportive certification approach, meaning that Diverse Cymru will work with participants to ensure they fully understand what evidence will be required to successfully achieve their target certification level. The scheme will also focus on supporting organisations to meet and respond to the needs of BME Mental Health service users in a sustainable and cost-efficient way.

The Certification Process:

The process has four simple stages :-

  • Stage 1. Registration and Payment
  • Stage 2. Self-Assessment Analysis
  • Stage 3. Assessment and Certification
  • Stage 4. Monitoring, Revalidation and Reassessment

Assessment and Certification Levels

Participants will be able to benchmark themselves at four different levels:

  • Foundation
  • Developing
  • Competence
  • Excellence

Indicative Evidence Levels

A standardised evidence template covering five assessment areas will be used to determine the participants certification level.

Please note that for this project the terms – Black Minority Ethnic (BME) or Black, Asian Minority Ethnic (BAME), are used to refer to non-white members of the community in the UK, for the purpose of the certification process, Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) includes, Roma, Irish, Polish, Travellers and Eastern Europeans for example